Connect with us


Facebook Shuts Down Page for GOP Senate Campaigns Just Before Georgia Runoffs

Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX) and 10 other GOP senators have signed a letter announcing they will vote “to reject the electors from disputed states as not ‘regularly given’ and ‘lawfully certified’” until a 10-day emergency audit can be conducted in those states.

“We do not take this action lightly. We are acting not to thwart the democratic process, but rather to protect it,” Cruz wrote in the letter, which was released Saturday.

The letter states that the 2020 election “featured unprecedented allegations of voter fraud, violations and lax enforcement of election law, and other voting irregularities,” which exceed previous elections and must be investigated fully.

Cruz and the other Republicans took aim at the Supreme Court, which now contains three justices nominated by President Donald Trump – for not taking up allegations of voter fraud from the November election.

“Ideally, the courts would have heard evidence and resolved these claims of serious election fraud. Twice, the Supreme Court had the opportunity to do so; twice, the Court declined,” the letter says.

Cruz went on to note that Democrats have previously raised objections to the presidential election results in 1969, 2001, 2005, and 2017. Further, in 1969 and 2005, “a Democratic Senator joined with a Democratic House Member in forcing votes in both houses on whether to accept the presidential electors being challenged.”

“The most direct precedent on this question arose in 1877, following serious allegations of fraud and illegal conduct in the Hayes-Tilden presidential race. Specifically, the elections in three states-Florida, Louisiana, and South Carolina-were alleged to have been conducted illegally,” the letter says. “In 1877, Congress did not ignore those allegations, nor did the media simply dismiss those raising them as radicals trying to undermine democracy. Instead, Congress appointed an Electoral Commission-consisting of five Senators, five House Members, and five Supreme Court Justices-to consider and resolve the disputed returns.”

The Republicans said they expect that Democrats will not support their vote and that many Republicans won’t either, but insisted a “fair and credible audit-conducted expeditiously and completed well before January 20-would dramatically improve Americans’ faith in our electoral process and would significantly enhance the legitimacy of whoever becomes our next President.”

In addition to Cruz, Republican Senators Ron Johnson of Wisconsin, James Lankford of Oklahoma, Steve Daines of Montana, John Kennedy of Louisiana, Marsha Blackburn of Tennessee, and Mike Braun of Indiana. In addition, several Senators-Elect signed the letter, including Cynthia Lummis of Wyoming, Roger Marshall of Kansas, Bill Hagerty of Tennessee, and Tommy Tuberville of Alabama.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *